scarydream
2004-09-10 @ 10:57 a.m.

Okay I had one weirdo dream last night. Weirder than weird because it reminded me quite a lot of some of the dreams I used to have when I was younger.

It kind of started with a paddling pool. There were mini plastic versions of loads of different shoes. Nikes, New Rocks, Doc Martens... everything. And they were all small and plastic so they all floated on the paddling pool. There was also a small plastic ball in there. What the game was, was you had to flick your shoe replica so that it would hit the ball, and if the shoe turned in its side it would be disqualified.

We all kinda got bored of that after a while (Me, Caroline, Grace, Ryan, Sibz, possibly one of Grace's friends from college, and a bunch of people we didn't know) so we went to the sea side. It was kind of an ugly beach, there were wooden barriers out to sea so that people wouldn't go past them. Kinda silly to put wood in water. I guess my subconcious is a bit stupid. Anyhow, there were these barriers, they were kind of on top of the water anyway, so you could go under them.

Anyhow basically what happened was the tide came in and I'd taken my shoes off, and I was sitting closest to the sea. The sea lifted up one of my manky old trainers, and I made a joke about the game that we'd been playing earlier. I turned around as everybody laughed, but when I looked back the sea had pulled my trainer a bit out, so I ran after it and grabbed it and put it on my foot. But then the sea pulled me a bit out. Agh!

I was trying to swim against the current but it just was not working at all. Eventually it pulled me out all the way to the barriers where I couldn't touch the ground, so I was gripping hold of the barriers. Undernearth the barriers however, the water was flowing even faster. I could barely hold on.

Now for some reason throughout the day, Caroline had been wearing Sibz's gothic black and purple dress that suits Am so well. I think Sibz had given it to her or something. Despite wearing this heavy dress, Caroline swam out to rescue me. Sweet girlfriend.

But I was really wound up because she was ruining her dress and also her dress was really heavy and making it hard for her to swim. Eventually though, we managed to get about half way back, working against the current, where we could stand up. We could not however get any further forward and we were very tired, so the tide managed to drag us a bit back again. Eventually Ryan and some fat guy swam out and managed to drag us both in.

I was really upset afterwards because my mobile phone was broken. Ryan pointed out that I never wanted a phone in the first place so I shouldn't really care. I realised that he was right and so I threw my phone back into the water.

It was in fact like a lot of dreams I had as a child though. I had a lot of nightmares about being dragged out to sea by a tide rip or something, or about the tide coming in and there not being a way to get off the beach. Things like that. Fucking terrifying. I find the sea incredibly scary, I really do.