mugic mashrooms
2004-07-26 @ 9:08 a.m.

I think that perhaps this small debate would be more appropriate through the form of e-mail. But nevermind.

I have to admit that I skim read your last entry on the grounds that I am thoroughly exhausted. Basically, the fact of the matter is, I'm not that fussed, I've just somehow wound up getting into this debate and can't get out of it if I'm brutally honest.

I think that you slightly misinterpret me though. The problem is that I say things in a stronger way than I mean them, and instead of allowing for that and weakening them down a bit, you make them even stronger. I don't think that you're arrogant as such, I just think that you assume that you're right all the time, which most people also do. The difference is that you state beliefs as fact, for instance you say things like... I don't know... Everybody is accountable for their own actions and blaming other factors is weakminded etc etc

And I'm inclined to agree with you on that one, but the fact of the matter is that there are other people who aren't. You can say that you think that and appear perfectly reasonable, but you say it in the same way that somebody might comment that 4 times 4 is 16.

I shan't continue this little debate any further though, from this point, because as you may have noticed, I actually far prefer to be in agreement with everybody. Obviously I can't be all the time, but generally if it's possible I try.

Last night Caroline and I stayed at Grace's house. We talked about mushrooms til way into the night. It's odd the way that mushrooms are because for most people it is really quite a spiritual experience. The problem with that is that what it actually is, is your body fighting off a poison. But it is quite hard to accept that it's not that you've discovered the answers to life the universe and everything, you have just had a good trip. But it does FEEL spiritual and it is very very hard to come back to reality completely unaltered. I don't even recomend coming back to reality unaltered, but what I really do not reccomend at all is taking them as more than just entertainment. Because they aren't. It really is just a poison. It's such a weird thought. It really does feel like you're in a completely different world, and that world is so real, and you're a part of everything and you get horrendous deja vu which makes you think you took mushrooms as a child, and it is really fun and it is really difficult not to take as more than it is.

But you shouldn't. I don't think anyway.

Oh I don't know. Mushrooms are the most amazing experience I've ever had and I'd reccomend it to anyone who thinks that they'd be able to completely leave reality with no fear or ill effects.