religion
2004-06-23 @ 12:42 p.m.

We started religion in sociology today. Fascinating. And yet tragically I managed to offend the whole class all in one go. The teacher was going round asking our religions, and in a class of 25, I'd say about 13 of them said they were Muslims and 10 of them Christians. There was one "I don't know. My mum's a Christian and my dad's a Muslim" and there was my answer, "Oh I'm an atheist."

The teacher was asking us all questions about what our religion meant to us and crap, so she asked why I'm an atheist and whether or not my parents are atheists. I said that my parents are atheists, and of course that is a massive part of why I myself am an atheist. That, I said, is why religion is so stupid. You get very few Muslims with Hindu parents, very few Christians with Muslim parents, very few Hindus with Buddhist parents.

That is why religion means nothing, I told her. Religion means nothing because it's just something we pick up, not something we truely believe in. I talked about being privalaged in that I wasn't brought up in a background of lies, superstition and religion. I had the facts straight and I was able to base my own beliefs on the evidence available.

I didn't mean to offend them all, but I guess it did come out kind of offensive.

We then watched a video on the Hijaab and read articles on what it means to different people. The article I was reading I wasn't sure whether or not to support.

It basically said that the Hijaab isn't necessary according to the Muslim holy book (I do know what it's called but can't spell it and so will not even attempt) it is only people's interpretations. It said that we shouldn't respect it because it is simply a symbol of oppression. It compared wearing it to female circumsision and said that it was good that it was banned in public schools in France.

Now I was actually completely against banning the Hijaab in schools in France, simply because I'm against uniforms and restrictions. Everybody should be able to wear whatever the hell they like - but whether or not wearing it is oppressive... I dunno. Not to the Muslims I've talked to, but I haven't spoken to every Muslim in the world.

It was all very interesting. I'm looking forward to doing my A2s a lot. The topics are somewhat fascinating.